University Of California, Berkeley Linguistics

The Department of Linguistics was constituted in 1953 by the distinguished Sanskrit and Dravidian scholar Murray Emeneau, and subsequently chaired by Mary Haas, a leading scholar of both American Indian and Asian languages, there are at present 15 faculty and 6 retired professors associated with the department. With the approximately 50 graduate students in progress toward the M.A. and Ph.D. degrees, Berkeley linguists remain committed to the empirical, historical, and theoretical study of linguistic structure within a broad linguistic, cultural, and cognitive context.